Electrabel - Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the highest decision-making body in the company except when it comes to issues which, according to law or the Articles of Association, must be reserved for shareholders.

The Board of Directors

The Board is the ultimate decision-making body of the Company, except for those matters reserved to the General Assembly by law or the Articles of Association.

The Board's primary objective is to ensure the long-term success of the Company while respecting the interests of all stakeholders essential to the achievement of this objective, namely shareholders, staff, customers, suppliers and other creditors, and the public service obligations it must assume.

The Board defines the Company's values, strategy, the level of risk it is willing to assume and its key policies.

The Chief Executive Officer (CEO)

The Board of Directors entrusts the operational management (including the day-to-day management) of the Company and the representation in relation to this management to the Chief Executive Officer (CEO).

Cedric Osterrieth is Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Electrabel SA since January 1st 2024.

Board Committees

The Board of Directors has set up an Audit Committee.

Statutory auditor

The company’s statutory auditor certifies Electrabel s.a. annual accounts. The Ordinary General Meeting of April 25, 2023 has decided to fix the annual remuneration of the auditor at a total amount of €1 273 250. His term of office ends at the close of the 2026 Ordinary General Meeting.

Deloitte Business Auditor

Managing representative: Corine Magnin, Business Auditor



ENGIE ensures that the best corporate governance practices are employed within Electrabel. Its charter reflects the governance principles applied.

Corporate Governance Charter

Coordinated Articles of Association

The Board of Directors : composition

Card image cap

Johnny Thijs

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Since October 2019, Johnny Thijs has been chairman of the Board of Directors for Electrabel nv. He is also chairman of the Board of Directors for Recticel, Corealis, Golazo and Hospital Logistics and a board member for H. Essers. He is also an adviser for CVC. He holds a degree in commercial engineering from the University of Hasselt.

Card image cap

Cedric Osterrieth

CEO of Electrabel

Cedric Osterrieth has over 30 years of professional experience in the energy sector, where he has worked in power production and storage, hydrogen development projects and oil and gas production. He heads the European flexible generation with ENGIE since 2018. As of January 1st 2024, Cedric Osterrieth is CEO of Electrabel SA.

Card image cap

Thierry Saegeman

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE group

Thierry Saegeman started his career at Electrabel in 1995, where he held various positions in onshore and offshore wind project development, maintenance and conventional and hydro generation in France. In October 2016, he was named head of nuclear power generation activities in Belgiumn after which he was appointed CEO of the BU Nuclear in 2020. From May 1st 2021 to December 31st 2023, Thierry Saegeman was CEO and nuclear officer of Electrabel SA. He was also country manager of ENGIE in Belgium.
Since January 1st 2024 he is Executive Vice President of the ENGIE Group in charge of Transformation and Geographies. He keeps his function of nuclear officer of Electrabel.

Card image cap

Pierre-François Riolacci

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE group

Pierre-François Riolacci began his career at ELF Aquitaine, where for 11 years he held various positions in management control, finance and investor relations in France, the United Kingdom and Congo. He then joined the VEOLIA group, where he was CFO from 2010 to 2013. Pierre-François Riolacci was then appointed CFO of the Air France KLM group in 2013. In 2016, he joined ISS as CFO, based in Denmark, and has been appointed EVP in charge of Finance, Corporate Social Responsibility and Procurement with ENGIE since January 2022.

Card image cap

Paulo Almirante

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE group

Paulo Almirante has been Executive Vice President of ENGIE since 2016. Since 2021 he is in charge of ENGIE’s activities in renewables and energy management.

Card image cap

Sébastien Arbola

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE group

In this capacity, he supervises the Flex Gen & Retail Global Business Unit providing balanced and flexible power generation, hydrogen to energy systems and green solutions to B2C customers.

Card image cap

Etienne Denoël

External Director of Electrabel

Etienne Denoël is Emeritus-director of the McKinsey consultancy, where he worked from 1987 to 2018 as an adviser to private businesses and government bodies. He led various missions in the energy, industrial and service sector in Europe and North America. In 2000, he founded the McKinsey Solutions, Research and Knowledge Center in Belgium (Louvain-la-Neuve).

Card image cap

Philippe Van Troeye


Philippe Van Troeye joined Electrabel in 1988 and held several positions in the generation department, before being appointed General Manager of the generation activities in Belgium and Luxembourg in 2006. From 2016 to 2021 he was CEO of Electrabel SA. As from May 1st 2021, Philippe van Troeye is appointed CEO of Tractebel.

Card image cap

Patrick van der Beken

Director and Secretary of the Board of Directors

Patrick van der Beken has been active in the Group since 1996 in governance functions of the management bodies. Director and Secretary of the Board of Directors of ENGIE SA from 2008 to 2021, he is now Director in charge of the rationalization of the Group's legal structures.