Electrabel - Board of directors

The Board of Directors is the highest decision-making body in the company except when it comes to issues which, according to law or the Articles of Association, must be reserved for shareholders.

The Executive Committee

The CEO, who is appointed by the Board, takes care of the day to day management of the company and representation of the company, with respect to the Board.

Since 26 April 2016, Philippe VAN TROEYE has been the CEO of Electrabel. The Executive Committee is tasked with supporting the CEO in the operational leadership of the business in the context of the organisational principles, as set out in the Corporate Governance Charter.


Statutory auditor

The company’s statutory auditor certifies Electrabel s.a. annual accounts. The Ordinary General Meeting of April 25, 2017 has decided to fix the annual remuneration of the auditor at a total amount of €1,125,000. His term of office ends at the close of the 2020 Ordinary General Meeting.

Deloitte Business Auditor

Managing representative: Laurent BOXUS, Business Auditor



ENGIE ensures that the best corporate governance practices are employed within Electrabel. Its charter reflects the governance principles applied.

Corporate Governance Charter

Coordinated Articles of Association

The board of directors : composition

Johnny Thijs

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Since October 2019, Johnny Thijs has been chairman of the Board of Directors for Electrabel nv. He is also chairman of the Board of Directors for Recticel, Corealis, Golazo and Hospital Logistics and a board member for H. Essers. He is also an adviser for CVC and Lazard Benelux. He holds a degree in commercial engineering from the University of Hasselt.

Philippe Van Troeye

CEO of Electrabel

Philippe Van Troeye began working for Electrabel in 1988, when he had various roles within Production. In 2006, he became General Manager of Production in Belgium and Luxembourg. In July 2008, he was appointed as Executive Vice President Generation BeLux. Philippe Van Troeye is Vice Chairman of Laborelec and board member at Synatom and Tractebel Engineering. He graduated from the Faculty of Engineering of UMons where he completed a course in electrotechnical civil engineering.

Paulo Almirante

Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of the ENGIE Group

Paulo Almirante has been Executive Vice President of ENGIE since 2016 and General Manager Operations since 2018. He supervises the business units Brazil, NECST (North, South and Eastern Europe) and MESCAT (Middle East, South and Central Asia and Turkey).

Pierre Chareyre

Executive Vice President of the ENGIE Group

Pierre Chareyre has been Executive Vice President since 2016. He has been supervising the business units GEM (Global Energy Management), Generation Europe, B2C France and Benelux since 2019. He is responsible for the worldwide thermal business line.

Etienne Denoël

External Director of Electrabel

Etienne Denoël is Emeritus-director of the McKinsey consultancy, where he worked from 1987 to 2018 as an adviser to private businesses and government bodies. He led various missions in the energy, industrial and service sector in Europe and North America. In 2000, he founded the McKinsey Solutions, Research and Knowledge Center in Belgium (Louvain-la-Neuve).

Judith Hartmann

Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer of the ENGIE Group

Judith Hartmann has been the Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer for ENGIE since 2015. Since 2019, she has also been responsible for CSR and supervising Group activities in the United Kingdom and North America.

Cedric Osterrieth

CEO Business Unit Generation Europe

Cédric Osterrieth has over 24 years of professional experience in the energy sector; he has worked in the electricity and also the oil and gas sectors. He has been head of the Generation Europe Business Units since 2018.

Thierry Saegeman

CEO Business Unit Nuclear

Thierry Saegeman has managed nuclear activities since 2016 and, since January 2020, has been Chief Executive Officer of the new Business Unit Nuclear for ENGIE Electrabel. He is responsible for managing the Belgian nuclear fleet, i.e. the power plants at Doel and Tihange and the centrally managed services.

Patrick van der Beken

Patrick Van der Beken has been active within the Group for 24 years, as secretary for various business units. Since 2008, he has been secretary for ENGIE's Board of Directors, the General Management Committee and the company's Executive Committee.